Defend The Right to Protest




Earlier this year, NSW Parliament passed a bill which makes it a crime to participate in nonviolent protests. Police can now send protestors to jail for two years if they obstruct vehicles or pedestrians on any road that the Coalition Minister decides by regulation. Police can also fine individuals up to $22,000. 

You can now go to jail in NSW if you participate in the tactics that progressive activists have used to challenge political injustice. With Labor’s support, the NSW Coalition has criminalised tactics used by Civil Rights Activists during the Selma to Montgomery Marches, the anti-vietnam war movement, and the NSW Green Bans (to name just a few examples). For these reasons, human rights organisations and trade unions have widely condemned the Bill as an attack on the right to protest and the integrity of our democracy. 

We are convening an urgent mass-meeting of Labor branch members to oppose the criminalisation of protest. We need your help to overturn Labor’s support for the Bill at the upcoming NSW Labor Conference. 



LOCATION: Newtown Neighbourhood Centre (1 Bedford Street, Newtown)

ONLINE ATTENDANCE: Yes - Branch members may observe the meeting and vote on the motion via ZOOM. 



  1. Hear from MPs, Trade Unionists, and Civil Liberties Activists about why NSW Labor must oppose this anti-protest legislation. 
  2. Endorse a conference motion which will bind Labor MPs to repeal the anti-protest Bill if we form Government in NSW next year. 
  3. Build a grassroots campaign to ensure that the NSW Labor Conference in October endorses the motion.  This motion will be debated at the NSW Labor Conference in October. 





Paul Keating

Secretary - MUA Sydney Branch



Trish Doyle MP

NSW Labor Member for the Blue Mountains



Cameron Murphy AM

President of the NSW Council for Civil Liberties (1999-2013)




The 2022 NSW Labor Conference notes with concern that:
  1. On the 31st of March 2022 the NSW Government passed the Roads and Crimes Legislation Amendment Bill 2022 (The Bill) with Labor’s support.
  2. The Bill criminalised non-violent forms of protest that affect any road or infrastructure facility that the Minister decides by regulation.
  3. The Bill means that any person that participates in non-violent protest can be sent to prison for 2 years and/or fined $22,000.
  4. Civil liberties organisations have widely condemned The Bill on human rights grounds.
  5. The Bill is a fundamental threat to our democracy and individual freedom.
The 2022 NSW Labor Conference therefore resolves that:
  • NSW Labor commits to repealing The Bill if it forms government in 2023


RSVP (For both in-person and Zoom attendees)

Note: After you register using the facility below you will receive a confirmation email. This email includes a link to register for a zoom link if you cannot attend the event in-person and would like to join us remotely i.e. zoom attendees should first RSVP using the facility below and then register for a zoom link using the information provided in the confirmation email. 


August 21, 2022 at 12:00pm - 1pm
Newtown Neighbourhood Centre
Lorre Manning Patricia Glossop Dion Wilson Sue Deane Anastasia Bennett Cian Galea Ellen Trevanion Leanne Hutcheson Jane grundy Jane Salmon Evelyn Santoro Antony Steel Fulin Yan Rajanikhil Malaramuthan Emma Malone Louisa Romanous Nick Gemmell Robert Jones Kasper Ekstrom Mark Kunach Tony Simons Beverley and Bruce Sharpe Luc Harvey David Carey Sarah Shrubb Julie Mckenzie Anthony D'Adam Anne Kricker David Allen Mali Doyle Alberto Castillo Joanne Smith Patrick Gifford Jeremiah Williams Callum Cartwright David Hauser George Campbell Ian Wynne Gabriel Oliveiro

Who's RSVPing

Jason Morris
Annette Cremer
Garry Preston
Marie Sillars
Pamela Smith
Susai Benjamin
Kathleen Collins
Jo Mills
Roy Antaw
Durga Owen
Jennifer Haines
Ross Fenton
Amy Spencer
Yonatan Gressel-Keich
Fiona Clark
John Jackson
Chris Warren
John Mills
Peter Moss
Lorre Manning
Patricia Glossop
Dion Wilson
Sue Deane
Anastasia Bennett
Cian Galea
Ellen Trevanion
Leanne Hutcheson

Will you come?

Showing 94 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Jason Morris
    rsvped +1 2022-08-19 15:45:26 +1000
  • Annette Cremer
    rsvped 2022-08-19 15:38:06 +1000
  • Garry Preston
    rsvped 2022-08-19 15:29:02 +1000
  • Marie Sillars
    rsvped 2022-08-19 15:21:02 +1000
  • Pamela Smith
    rsvped +1 2022-08-19 15:10:30 +1000
  • Susai Benjamin
    rsvped 2022-08-19 14:16:22 +1000
  • Kathleen Collins
    rsvped 2022-08-19 14:16:13 +1000
  • Jo Mills
    rsvped 2022-08-19 14:00:17 +1000
  • The Regions Remember Pengelly
    canceled rsvp 2022-08-19 13:33:06 +1000
  • The Regions Remember Pengelly
    rsvped 2022-08-19 13:30:22 +1000
  • Roy Antaw
    rsvped 2022-08-19 13:28:05 +1000
  • Durga Owen
    rsvped +1 2022-08-19 13:22:56 +1000
  • Jennifer Haines
    rsvped 2022-08-19 13:22:52 +1000
  • Ross Fenton
    followed this page 2022-08-19 11:23:13 +1000
  • Ross Fenton
    rsvped 2022-08-19 11:22:48 +1000
  • Amy Spencer
    rsvped 2022-08-19 08:41:17 +1000
  • Yonatan Gressel-Keich
    rsvped 2022-08-18 21:30:40 +1000
  • Fiona Clark
    rsvped 2022-08-18 20:22:10 +1000
  • John Jackson
    rsvped 2022-08-18 18:10:47 +1000
  • Chris Warren
    rsvped 2022-08-18 17:46:35 +1000
  • John Mills
    rsvped 2022-08-18 15:12:41 +1000
  • Peter Moss
    rsvped 2022-08-18 13:59:07 +1000
  • Lorre Manning
    rsvped 2022-08-18 13:21:53 +1000
  • Patricia Glossop
    rsvped 2022-08-18 10:33:33 +1000
  • Dion Wilson
    rsvped 2022-08-18 10:19:08 +1000
  • Sue Deane
    rsvped +1 2022-08-18 10:04:32 +1000
  • Anastasia Bennett
    rsvped +4 2022-08-18 09:13:48 +1000
  • Cian Galea
    rsvped 2022-08-18 09:13:30 +1000
  • Ellen Trevanion
    rsvped 2022-08-18 09:09:26 +1000
  • Leanne Hutcheson
    rsvped +1 2022-08-17 22:18:25 +1000